©2019 by Creative Calgary. Proudly created with Wix.com

Advocating for a

Thriving Arts Sector

Messaging that speaks to City Council and municipal priorities to consider as you share your story:

Arts Sector as an Economic Driver: Calgary continues to grow as a magnet for top tier talent and small business owners. A vibrant and strong arts sector will help attract and retain this talent.  A healthy arts sector also contributes s significantly to developing a vibrant city core by supporting civic partners and business revitalization zones. The arts sector can help to increased tourism and initiate other indirect economic activity.

Building Stronger Communities: By cultivating a healthy arts sector and investing in local talent Calgary can become a city of inspiring neighborhoods. The arts can engage Calgarians by creating a sense of place and strong civic identity; as well as addressing mental health, social isolation and Truth and Reconciliation.

 

Civic Engagement: Art in Calgary is not restricted to downtown core; sustainable investment allows for Calgarians to add to the vitality of our city through festivals and other creative programs across all 14 Wards.

 

Empowering Calgarians to Realize Their Potential: Through arts education, creative programming and cultural activities, Calgarians can foster greater relationships with and within their communities; as well as develop a better understanding of themselves and the world.

Ready to share your story?  Contact City Council now:

Calgary City Councillors:

 

Ward 1: Ward Sutherland             ward.sutherland@calgary.ca            Twitter: @Ward4Ward1

Ward 2: Joe Magliocca                   joe.magliocca@calgary.ca                 Twitter: @joe_magliocca

Ward 3: Jyoti Gondek                     jyoti.gondek@calgary.ca                    Twitter: @JyotiGondek

Ward 4: Sean Chu                            sean.chu@calgary.ca                            Twitter: @seanchucalgary 

Ward 5: George Chahal                  george.chahal@calgary.ca                 Twitter: @ChahalGeorge

Ward 6: Jeff Davison                       jeff.davison@calgary.ca                       Twitter: @JeffDavisonYYC

Ward 7: Druh Farrell                        druh.farrell@calgary.ca                       Twitter: @DruhFarrell

Ward 8: Evan Woolley                     evan.woolley@calgary.ca                   Twitter:  @EWoolleyWard8

Ward 9: Gian-Carlo Carra               gian-carlo.carra@calgary.ca             Twitter: @gccarra

Ward 10: Ray Jones                          ray.jones@calgary.ca                           Twitter: @RundleRay

Ward 11: Jeromy Farkas                 jeromy.farkas@calgary.ca                  Twitter: @JeromyYYC

Ward 12: Shane Keating                 shane.keating@calgary.ca                  Twitter: @CouncillorKeats

Ward 13: Diane Colley-Urquhart diane.colley-urquhart@calgary.ca Twitter:  @BigRedyyc

Ward 14: Peter Demong                 peter.demong@calgary.ca                  Twitter: @peterdemong

Mayor: Naheed Nenshi                   themayor@calgary.ca                          Twitter: @nenshi